E-Magazine Editorial Board

Yatin Trivedi, Editor-in-Chief, SEC eZine; Member, IEEE-SA Board of Governors

Yatin Trivedi Yatin Trivedi, Editor-in-Chief, is a member of the IEEE Standards Association Board of Governors (BoG) and Standards Education Committee (SEC), and serves as vice-chair for Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC) under Computer Society. Since 2012 Yatin has served as the Standards Board representative to IEEE Education Activities Board (EAB). He also serves Chairman on the Board of Directors of the IEEE-ISTO.

Yatin currently serves as Associate Vice President for hardware services at Aricent Inc. Prior to his current assignment, Yatin served as Director of Strategic Marketing at Synopsys where he was responsible for corporate-wide technical standards strategy. In 1992, Yatin co-founded Seva Technologies as one of the early Design Services companies in Silicon Valley. He co-authored the first book on Verilog HDL in 1990 and was the Editor of IEEE Std 1364-1995™ and IEEE Std 1364-2001™. He also started, managed and taught courses in VLSI Design Engineering curriculum at UC Santa Cruz extension (1990-2001). Yatin started his career at AMD and also worked at Sun Microsystems.

Yatin received his B.E. (Hons) EEE from BITS, Pilani and M.S. Computer Engineering from Case Western Reserve University. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE and a member of IEEE-HKN Honor Society.

Donald Heirman

Donald HeirmanDonald Heirman is president of Don HEIRMAN Consultants, LLC, which is a training, standards,and educational electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) consultation corporation. He chairs, or is a principal technical contributor to, US and international EMC standards organizations including ANSI ASC C63®, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and the International Electrotechnical Commission’s (IEC) International Special Committee on Radio Interference(CISPR). He is a life Fellow of the IEEE and an honored life member of the IEEE EMC Society and member of its Board of Directors, chair of its technical committees on EMC measurements and Smart Grid, Vice President for Standards, past EMCS president, and past chair of its standards development committee. He is also past president of the IEEE Standards Association (SA), past member of the SA Board of Governors and past member of the IEEE’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee.

Amin KarimAmin Karim

Amin Karim is a higher education consultant specializing in curriculum development, program outcomes assessment, and accreditation of electrical and computer engineering programs by ABET. He retired as the national Dean of the College of Technology at DeVry University in 2012. He has since been serving as a consultant for electrical engineering programs at several higher educational institutions in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. He is a member of the IEEE Standards Education Association. He is also currently involved in helping improve k12 education in rural Bangladesh. He is a past Chair of the Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology Department Heads Association of the American Society for Engineering Education and served as a TAC of ABET evaluator for engineering technology programs for many years.

Nitin Aggarwal

Nitin AggarwalNitin Aggarwal is Associate Professor of Business in the department of Management Information Systems at San José State University. He received his Ph.D. in Business Administration from Texas Tech University. He has published in reputed journals like the MIS Quarterly, Decision Sciences, International Journal of Electronic Commerce, and Electronic Markets. He has also presented his research in a number of national and international conferences such as ICIS, HICSS, and AMCIS. He is a member of the Association for Information Systems, the professional forum for IS professionals. Dr. Aggarwal is an active researcher in the area of standards and standardization. His research includes organizational and governance issues, intellectual property issues, transactional issues, and economic issues involved in standardization.

Glenn Parsons

Glenn ParsonsGlenn Parsons is an internationally known expert in mobile backhaul and Ethernet technology. He is a standards advisor with Ericsson Canada, where he coordinates standards strategy and policy for Ericsson, including network architecture for LTE and 5G transport. Previously, he has held positions in development, product management and standards architecture in the ICT industry. Over the past number of years, he has held several management and editor positions in various standards activities including IETF, IEEE, and ITU-T. He has been an active participant in the IEEE-SA Board of Governors, Standards Board and its Committees since 2004. He is currently involved with 5G transport standardization in MEF, IEEE and ITU-T and is chair of IEEE 802.1. He is the Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Communications Standards Magazine and a Technical Editor for IEEE Communications Magazine. He graduated in 1992 with a B.Eng. degree in electrical engineering from Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Adrian Stephens

Adrian StephensAdrian Stephens is a Management Consultant specializing in Standards Development. His focus is on developing IEEE 802.11 standards. He is Chair of IEEE 802.11. He is a member of the IEEE-SA standards board. Previously, as an Intel employee, he coordinated (internally and externally) a technical proposal for IEEE 802.11n. He managed an industry group that successfully proposed an initial draft for the IEEE 802.11ac amendment.

Adrian has over 20 years of product development and research experience working for industry and government. Adrian received a B.A. (’77) and a Ph.D. from Cambridge University. He is a senior member of the IEEE.