Standards Education Committee

Introducing the IEEE Standards Education Committee

The IEEE Standards Education Committee (SEC) is a joint committee of the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) Board of Governors and the IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB). Its mission is to:

  • Promote the importance of standards in meeting technical, economic, environmental, and societal challenges.
  • Secure and disseminate learning materials on the application of standards in the design and development aspects of educational programs.
  • Secure and provide short courses about standards needed in the design and development phases of professional practice.
  • Actively promote the integration of standards into academic programs.
  • Lead other education initiatives planned jointly by EAB and the IEEE-SA as needed.

2017 IEEE Standards Education Committee

  • James Irvine, Chair – University of Strathclyde
  • Glenn Parsons, Vice Chair – Ericsson
  • Howard Wolfman – Lumispec Consulting
  • Donald Heirman – Don HEIRMAN Consultants, LLC
  • Tarek S. El-Bawab – Jackson State University
  • Yatin Trivedi – Aricent, Inc.
  • Kevin Lu – Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Adrian Stephens – Independent Consultant

Corresponding Members / Non-Voting

  • Frederic Surre – City, University of London
  • Jeffry J. Handal – Cisco Meraki
  • David Law – Hewlett Packard Enterprises

Ex Officio / Non-Voting  VP of EAB

  • Dr. S.K. Ramesh – Electrical and Computer Engineering, California State University

Ex Officio / Non-Voting President of IEEE-SA

  • Don Wright – Standards Strategies, LLC