Call for Nominations for The Hans Karlsson Standards Award

Hans Karlsson Standards Award

Call for Standards Award Nominations

Deadline: 1 October 2019


This award was established in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, chairman and “father” of the IEEE 1301 family of standards.

A plaque and $2,000 honorarium are presented in recognition of outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation, and joint achievement in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of the society.

Nomination Information

  • Requires 3 endorsements
  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Do not need IEEE or IEEE Computer Society membership to nominate
  • Nominations are being accepted electronically by 1 October 2019 to


Visit or contact

Hans Karlsson Standards Award – PDF Download


Adrian Stephens

2019 Hans Karlsson Standards Award Recipient

Adrian Stephens

Management Consultant

For exemplary leadership of the 802.11 Wireless LAN Working Group and technical contributions to the 802.11 family of standards.